• Welcome Guest!

Please register or sign in to have the complete Shroomology community experience! Become a member today, post topics, get your own profile, personal messenger and more!

funkus

Help. does my spawn jars to much airflow/gas Exchange?

funkus

So im totally new to making my own spawn and I'm afraid that I messed up. 3 days after i inoculated my jars I reckon they are starting to look dry? I made 4, 6mm holes in the lid and covered it with tyvek. My question here is did I make to many holes and by doing that to much airflow, so they dry out ? And if yes how can I fix it?

I hope you have a nice day

2018-07-09 11.07.58.jpg

2018-07-09 11.09.25.jpg

2018-07-09 11.11.04.jpg

2018-07-09 11.11.49.jpg

Edited by funkus
added a tag

mushmouth

You didn't use a SHIP?

If the grain was hydrated properly I think you'll be ok. Moisture will pass through the Tyvek but it takes a while.

funkus
12 minutes ago, mushmouth said:

You didn't use a SHIP?

If the grain was hydrated properly I think you'll be ok. Moisture will pass through the Tyvek but it takes a while.

No, I poked through the tyvek and covered it with micropore tape. And thanks for the reply. Let's hope I hydrated them proberly

Shroomarican

Use a double layer of tyvek to keep moisture loss at a minimum but still enable gas exchange. Rye grain is supposed to look dry on the outside anyway when done correctly, the inside should be moist. All my Rye grain jars look dry as all hell, but the inside is where the moisture is and they colonize good.  -SHROOOMARICAN-

6 hours ago, funkus said:

So im totally new to making my own spawn and I'm afraid that I messed up. 3 days after i inoculated my jars I reckon they are starting to look dry? I made 4, 6mm holes in the lid and covered it with tyvek. My question here is did I make to many holes and by doing that to much airflow, so they dry out ? And if yes how can I fix it?

2018-07-09 11.07.58.jpg

2018-07-09 11.09.25.jpg

2018-07-09 11.11.04.jpg