• Welcome Guest!

Please register or sign in to have the complete Shroomology community experience! Become a member today, post topics, get your own profile, personal messenger and more!

anobviousplatypus
Posted (edited)

hey there everyone, I'll just start out with a little preface:

- I'm a complete newb to mycology (even consuming) and am mainly interested in this as a hobby

- my background is in technology; software, electrical design, custom circuit boards, robotics, mechanical designs and prototyping, etc

A friend of mine asked if i could help him build a system to maximize/standardize growing for consistent and big yield results with a minimum of human intervention. There's definitely lots of ways I can accomplish that, but there's some parts of the puzzle I'm missing. I have done quite a lot of reading so far about bulk and shotgun methods of grow chambers, and that got me thinking about some of the things I'd like to build into an automated fruiting chamber. I'm hoping you, as an experienced community, can give me feedback on what parts of that concept can work, what's unnecessary, and what's dumb and should be avoided. 

planned automation features:

• NodeMCU (ESP32 or ESP8266) units for each chamber, featuring air temp/humidity sensor (DHT22), and soil/substrate temp/moisture sensors (D18S20 / ADC comparative circuit), as well as environmental control units. 
  • Environmental control will be effectuated with:
    • Peltier TEP on the air intake. Applying voltage causes air to be either heated or chilled depending on the polarity 
    • Piezoelectric transducer for vaporizing water in the case that humidity drops 
    • PWM controlled LED lights for fruiting stage (not sure what wavelength to use yet) 
    • Intake/outlet fans controlled on the a schedule by host server over MQTT with activated charcoal sheeting to address any escaping odors