• Welcome Guest!

Please register or sign in to have the complete Shroomology community experience! Become a member today, post topics, get your own profile, personal messenger and more!

zipzap

White Fuzz, Specks, And Covered Cap

Question

zipzap

This is flush 2, ~24 hours after undunking.

Signs & Symptoms

• White completely covering a cap - (pic 3)
  • White specs on other caps - (1-3)
  • Clumps of white fuzz almost looking like cobweb but less stringy and white (not gray) - (1-3)

I don't know what it is as I'm still very new at this - it just caught my eye and threw up red flags

What do you think?

Side Note: In flush 1, at the very bottoms, some stems had very fine (short) white hair on them, mostly on the largest mushrooms.  Being unsure if it was a 'tam or not I harvested/dried stored them.  Z strain.

-----Should those be tossed?

post-3072-0-75868000-1370910387_thumb.jp

post-3072-0-84314400-1370910404_thumb.jp

post-3072-0-78624400-1370910414_thumb.jp

7 answers to this question

shroomy_peace

let em go longer, the caps that have it on them are probably aborts that are supporting myc growth again. The fuzzy stuff at the bases I've seen before due to higher fruiting temps (76*+) and high RH (90%+). What are your fruiting temps? RH? I'd wait it out for another few days and see what happens. If there is no green, I'd harvest and munch :D

zipzap

Thanks shroomy_peace for the insight.  No green yet :D

Fruiting temps have been 70-74* F, and ~60% RH outside tubs for both measurements.  They are in zombie tubs so I would speculate the RH is a lot higher inside (as it should be by design), and possibly the temperature too.  I can rig my sensor inside for a day and check it out.  Will post back.

Is it common for myc to have a growth phase/increase again just after dunking?  If so, that could account for the white fuzz in the crevices of the casing.

shroomy_peace